License Reinstatement Lawyer in Newton, Warren and Sussex Counties
Regaining your driving privileges after a suspension
A license suspension, whether for driving under the influence (DUI) or another violation, almost always has a huge effect on your life. Most people take their driving privileges for granted and never stop to think about what it would be like to lose them. However, if you have had your license suspended, you understand what living without a license is like and are probably anxious to get it back. At the law firm of Hollander, Strelzik, Pasculli, Hinkes, Wojcik, Gacquin, Vandenberg & Hontz, L.L.C., we help our clients in Morris, Warren Passaic and Sussex Counties fully understand what they are up against when facing DUI or related charges and the steps they will need to take, including license reinstatement, to get their lives back to normal.
Typical reasons for license suspension
License suspension is one of several typical DUI penalties in New Jersey. However, there are several other violations that can result in suspensions of varying duration:
- Accumulation of 12 or more points
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to pay fines or surcharges
- Driving without insurance
- Reckless driving
- Abandonment of a vehicle on a public highway
- Being found at fault in a fatal accident
A first offense for driving on a suspended license can result in fines and surcharges of up to $1,250 and an extension of your current suspension. Second and third offenses can result in a jail sentence.
The process of getting your license back
The first step to getting your license back, particularly after a DUI conviction, is completing all the terms of your sentence, including the payment of fines and the completion of mandatory education and community service. Once all conditions of your sentence have been satisfied and your suspension period is up, you must pay a $100 restoration fee to the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) in order to have your license reinstated.
Once your payment and application are processed, you will receive a Notice of Restoration, which you can present at any New Jersey MVC. To receive your new license, you must have multiple forms of identification and proof of insurance. Once you have satisfied these requirements, your license will be reinstated.
Contact a Newton firm that can help you deal with all aspects of DUI
Dealing with a DUI charge is not an easy thing to do. Our attorneys at Hollander, Strelzik, Pasculli, Hinkes, Wojcik, Gacquin, Vandenberg & Hontz, L.L.C. will help you understand your rights during the DUI prosecution process and provide the assistance you need to get back to your life once it is over. Call our Newton office today at 973-383-3233 or contact us online to schedule an initial consultation with one of our attorneys
MEET OUR ATTORNEYS
FAMILY LAW INSIGHTS
OUR OFFICE LOCATION
40 Park Place
Newton, New Jersey 07860
Fax: 973 383-4922
CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION